

PEN Canada concerned at book-burning and censorship at the University of Mumbai

October 20, 2010 – Toronto – As a literary organization that works to protect freedom of expression and to oppose all forms of censorship, PEN Canada is deeply concerned at the removal of Rohinton Mistry's novel *Such a Long Journey* from the English literature syllabus at the University of Mumbai.

Vice-Chancellor Rajan Welukar's decision to remove the novel from the second year reading list of the Bachelor of Arts program, under an emergency provision, without holding a review with members of the Department of Language, Linguistics and Literature, or with members of the Faculty of Arts, raises troubling questions. It is a further cause for concern that the ban was apparently rushed through to appease members of the Shiv Sena party, following a book-burning protest organized by Aditya Thackeray, the new leader of Yuva Sena, the party's youth wing.

Published twenty years ago, *Such a Long Journey* has a distinguished history. It received the 1991 Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction in Canada, the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book, the W.H. Smith / Books in Canada First Novel Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. It was first placed on the English Literature syllabus at the University of Mumbai four years ago. Until Mr. Thackeray criticized the novel's "foul language against many things that we, in Mumbai, hold close to our hearts" most reviewers had emphasized the book's "loving humour" towards the citizens of Mumbai, and its "sharp affectionate sketches of Indian family life."

Book-burnings should have no place in a modern democracy, neither should peremptory censorship of the sort that has been used to remove *Such a Long Journey* from the English syllabus at the University of Mumbai. PEN Canada urges the board of the University to revisit Vice Chancellor Welukar's decision, to reinstate the novel as a part of the required reading for second year Literature students, until a full academic review of its merits and supposed shortcomings has been completed, and to reaffirm the University of Mumbai's commitment to academic freedom and its resistance to censorship and political pressure.

Honorary Patron

John Ralston Saul

President

Ellen Seligman

Charles Foran

Treasurer Frances Connelly

Chair, Writers in Exile Committee

Mary Jo Leddy

Chair, National Affairs Committee

Andrew Cohen

Chair, Outreach (Western Canada)

Miki Andrejevic Chair, Legal Affairs Clayton Ruby Chair, Membership

Sarah Elton

Editor, Newsletter and Annual Report

Diana Kuprel Chair, Communications Jared Bland

Members-at-large

Martha Butterfield Susan Coyne Anna Porter Bruce Walsh

Administrator

Katie Addleman Coordinator, Programs Brendan de Caires

Advisory Board

David Cronenberg Rohinton Mistry Ramin Jahanbegloo Naomi Klein

Past Presidents

Margaret Atwood
Reza Baraheni
Eugene Benson
Marian Botsford Fraser
June Callwood
Louise Dennys
Timothy Findley
Graeme Gibson
Alison Gordon
Katherine Govier
Ron Graham
Ann Ireland
Sandra Martin
Nelofer Pazira
Nino Ricci